Press "Enter" to skip to content

Candidates for local elections named

The following is a list of candidates for upcoming elections in Gadsden County.


Municipal elections will take place April 24, the last Tuesday in April.


District 1: Annette Bates, Qualified, 327 African Street, Chattahoochee, FL 32324; Anquarnette Richardson, Qualified, 322 Congo Road, Chattahoochee, FL 32324.

District 3: Amy Glass, Qualified, 664 South Main Street, Chattahoochee, FL 32324; Edward Jerry Wynn, Qualified, 21 West Marion Street, Chattahoochee, FL 32324.

District 5: Lorrin Howell, Qualified, 521 Morgan Avenue, Chattahoochee, FL 32324; Lou Bennie “Ann” Williams, Qualified, P.O. Box 737, Chattahoochee, FL 32324.


Group 1: Nathan Kever, Incumbent, 76 Clark Street, Quincy, FL 32351.

Group 2: William Michael Pitts, Incumbent, P.O. Box 226, Greensboro, 32330.


Seat 1: Marsha Jackson Fitzgerald, Qualified, 538 Williams Street, Gretna, FL 32332; W. Evelyn Goldwire, Qualified, 32 Lanier Lane, Gretna, FL 32332; John E. Smith, Did Not Qualify, P.O. Box 217, Gretna, FL 32332; Etta Nadine Wright-Reed, Qualified, 267 Broad Avenue, Gretna, FL 32332.

Seat 3: Johnnie House Jr., Qualified, 14804 Main Street, Gretna, FL 32332; Jeffery McNealy, Qualified, P.O. Box 904, Gretna, FL, 32332.


Group 4: John “Nick” Bert, Qualified, 405 Live Oak Lane West, Havana, FL 32333; Ben Golden Jr., Qualified, 410 S.E. 3rd Street, Havana, FL, 32333.

Group 5: Vernell Ross, Incumbent, P.O. Box 902, Havana, FL 32333;

Group 6: Edward Bass, Qualified, 407 East 9th Avenue, Havana, FL 32333; Phyllis D. Thomas, Qualified, P.O. Box 565, Havana, FL 32333.

Group 7: Shirley McGill, Incumbent, 512 Conyers Street, Havana, FL 32333.


District 3: Derrick Elias, Qualified, P.O. Box 2171, Quincy, FL 32353; Ronte Harris, Qualified, P.O. Box 1781, Quincy, FL 32353.


County Judge (NonPartisan): Candidate qualifying April 30 to May 4. Pre-qualified: Kathy Garner, Pre-Qualified via Petitions, 1226 West Jefferson Street, Quincy, FL 32351.

Board of County Commissioners: District 2: Candidate qualifying June 18 to 22. Pre-qualified: Douglas Croley, No Party Affiliation, Pre-Qualified via Petitions, P.O. Box 1039. Havana, FL 32333; Anthony Viegbesie, Democratic, Pre-Qualified via Petitions, P.O. Box 607, Havana, FL 32333.

Board of County Commissioners: District 4: Candidate qualifying June 18 to 22. Pre-qualified: No candidates as of March 12.

School Board (NonPartisan) – District 2: Candidate qualifying June 18 to 22. Pre-qualified: Mary Brock, Pre-Filed, 28 Quail Court, Havana, FL 32333; Rodney Moore, Pre-Filed, 735 Deerwood Circle, Quincy, FL 32352; Steve Scott, Pre-Filed, 603 Highland Avenue, Quincy, FL 32351.

School Board (NonPartisan) – District 3: Candidate qualifying June 18 to 22. Pre-qualified: Tony Britt, Pre-Filed, 164 James Circle, Quincy, FL 32351; Gail Bridges-Bright, Pre-Filed, 195 Dawkins Loop Road, Chattahoochee, FL 32324.

School Board (NonPartisan) – District 4: Candidate qualifying June 18 to 22. Pre-qualified: No candidates as of March 12.

Election/Registration Dates: The primary election for these seats is Tuesday, August 28, Registration deadline is Monday, July 16. The general election for these seats in Tuesday, November 6. Registration deadline is Monday, October 8.

Special to The Herald