Press "Enter" to skip to content

Five of six challengers win municipal races in Gadsden County

It was a good night for new blood as five of six challengers topped incumbents in Gadsden County municipal elections on Tuesday (April 24).

The final results for the 2018 Gadsden County municipal seats up for grabs in Tuesday’s elections have now been released by the Gadsden County Supervisor of Elections.

In Chattahoochee, 449 of 1,456 (30.84%) registered voters voted.

In District 1, challenger Anquarnette Richardson won the seat with 68 votes. Incumbent Annette Bates, the city’s mayor pro tem, collected only 33 votes and was defeated.

In District 3, challenger Amy Glass won the seat with 90 votes. Incumbent Edward Jerry Wynn collected only 42 votes and was defeated.

In District 5 (the city’s at-large district), challenger Lou Bennie “Ann” Williams won the seat with 291 votes. Incumbent Lorrin Howell collected only 153 votes and was defeated.

In Gretna, 343 of 945 (36.30%) of registered voters voted.

For Seat 1, Evelyn “Bea” Riley-Goldwire won the seat to replace Clarence Jackson with 181 votes. Etta Nadine Wright-Reed collected 99 votes to finish second and Marsha Jackson Fitzgerald brought up the rear with 62 votes.

For Seat 3, incumbent Jeffery McNealy won the seat with 194 votes. Challenger Johnnie House Jr. collected only 147 votes and was defeated.

In Havana, 616 of 1,427 (43.17%) of registered voters voted.

In Group 4, Nick Bert got 372 votes to win the seat left vacant when former Havana mayor T.J. Davis stepped down earlier this year. Ben Golden Jr. collected only 236 votes and was defeated.

In Group 6, challenger Eddie Bass won the seat with 342 votes. Incumbent Phyllis Thomas collected only 272 votes and was defeated.

In Quincy, 474 of 1,136 (41.73%) registered voters voted.

In District 3, challenger Ronte Harris won the seat with 282 votes. Incumbent Derrick Elias collected only 192 votes and was defeated.

All together, 1,882 of 4,964 (37.91%) of registered voters in Gadsden County voted in this year’s municipal elections.

By Randall Lieberman